Blanchford is a company with a rich history, one that is rooted within Oxfordshire and which prides itself on serving the local community.
With more than 80 years in business, it was a trio of brothers, Fred, Cecil and Ronald Blanchford who opened up a builders’ merchants shop on Queens Street in Oxford back in 1938. They soon outgrew the central Oxford site and relocated to Headington, where Blanchford’s main operation has been ever since.
The Blanchford brothers retired during the 1950s, with two committed employees then going on to become joint Managing Directors. Another family was introduced into the company through the accountants, and that established continuity in ownership ever since, as the same families are still shareholders today.
With the business going from strength to strength, a sister branch was opened in Princes Risborough in the 1960s, which today houses a kitchen & bathroom showroom alongside the building supplies sales operation. A third Blanchford site was opened in Wallingford in 2012 to supply our customers across south Oxfordshire. In May 2017 a further branch opened in Bicester enabling us to serve the north Oxfordshire.
What was true in 1938 is still true today in the 21st century. Blanchford is proud to retain its independence in an increasingly homogenised and competitive market. The emphasis on building long-standing relationships, along with providing a friendly and personalised service to customers, is very much part of the company ethos.
Whether you are a trade or a retail customer, Blanchford is a place to receive comprehensive advice on all matters relating to building materials and property renovation. Keeping ahead of any changes to building regulations, as well as embracing the move towards the increasing use of technology, is something we don’t shy away from.